Not waiting for Mr. Darcy

Facebook groups I’ve yet to join:

Waiting for Mr. Darcy.

Looking for Mr. Darcy.

I want to marry Mr. Darcy.

Forever in search of our own Mr. Darcy.

I refuse to settle for anything less than Mr. Darcy.

I’m not looking for Mr. Right, I’m looking for Mr. Darcy.

And my personal favorite: Get off that horse and ride me, Mr. Darcy.

To the men I know: Do you ever get tired of girls measuring you against imaginary guys from the 1800s, or do you not give a crumpet crumb that these girls think Colin Firth’s sideburns are sexy?

~ by stultiloquence on November 24, 2007.

6 Responses to “Not waiting for Mr. Darcy”

  1. i have finally found something worth commenting on. this made me smile. it really gets on my nerves when females measure us up to that darn darcy.

  2. Wow…Paz and comment together!

    Someone wisely pointed out that too many Christian women today expect to marry a 25 year old seminary student who is the spiritual equal of R.C. Sproul, John MacArthur and John Piper, then complain when none of the guys around them can measure up.
    Frankly, if I ever meet Mr. Darcy, I think I’m going to punch him. Right in the nose. He’s probably a nancy boy anyway…

  3. It’s being compared to real guys from the 2000’s that tires me and actually happens – to my knowledge.

  4. Absolutely. That shit has got to stop.

    The expectations of women – particularly Christian ones – are frightening. Second-year marital disillusionment has got to be hell.

  5. Mark, I wanted to say something quite similar but I didn’t want to shock my gentle readers. (Note the cunning little substitute “crumpet crumb.” Took me forever to think of it.)

  6. As a woman, probally most of us do compare you out there too Mr Darcy’s and more. But maybe we wouldn’t have to if you Mr rights got into action and came looking and ready to claim us waiting…

Leave a Reply

 
