Why I will burn with Vivienne Westwood in hell

Well, count me among the Christians who relish sexual perversion — the “less conscientious adults” who don’t “take the call of Christ seriously” and listen to the “satanic counsel” and “slick words” of Christianity Today.

I watched, and liked, Sex and the City.

This means I should, according to Ted Slater’s astoundingly sanctimonious Boundless column, repent before I burn in a hellfire stoked with Carrie Bradshaw and all her Manolos. But I side with CT’s Camerin Courtney instead:

Most of the few Christian voices speaking to the growing single segment of the population offer ten easy steps to find our soulmate. … Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte, and Miranda, however, show how challenging it really can be for intelligent, accomplished, and admittedly neurotic women to find lasting love. They, unlike many Christians, don’t insult my intelligence. Instead they speak to the complexities of relationships in a postmodern age—addressing baby lust, the mommy wars, sexual temptation, dating outside your “class,” commitment-phobia, the reluctant desire to be rescued by a man, and the simultaneous fear that you’ll lose your own hard-won identity in the process.

My friends and I — all intelligent, accomplished and absolutely neurotic women — watch that show when the evangelical subculture in which we live gets a bit too suffocating, when other Christians take for granted that our careers are only a way to mark time until marriage and motherhood, when true love waits (“And wait. And waits.”), and yeah, when we crave the sight of Givenchy and Dior.

You see, some Christian women actually live in the twenty-first century and share the SATC women’s struggles. The show may not always give the right answers, but it doesn’t pretend to. And sometimes unlike the church, it always treats those struggles realistically, humorously, and hopefully.

HT: Alissa.

~ by stultiloquence on June 10, 2008.

13 Responses to “Why I will burn with Vivienne Westwood in hell”

  1. I didn’t watch the movie and I kind of feel like the few episodes I’ve seen of the show were a little too intense for me. But I really felt like writing a scathing comment on the boundless blog about how they think they can blast what other Christians are saying without considering the heart behind it.

    Jonathan Edwards wrote that bad, and I believe even heretical, messages were not enough of a signal to say God was not behind a revival. Good things can be said in the midst of bad things. So I think it is completely possible that very important messages can come in the midst of bad scenes. Does that mean I’m going to see the movie? no, but I really think Boundless went way too far. Again.

    I am usually disgusted with about 2/3 of what Boundless says, so I’m not really surprised to see this on their site.

  2. Most of what Boundless publishes is, as you so wonderfully put it, “astoundingly sanctimonious.” Also surprisingly out of touch with the 20-something reality.

  3. But not completely without value….

  4. I don’t know, Jacob … I’m skeptical. I admit that I don’t really read it anymore (because I just kept getting outraged), but I agree that it’s out of touch with 20-something reality. Not all Christians DO live in the twenty-first century. Some live in a sort of ’50s fantasy and if they’re happy and it works for them, I guess that’s ok. But I don’t think Boundless addresses the questions of the 20-somethings who have chosen differently.

    And admit it, that article was astoundingly HORRIBLE. It could have been parodying itself.

  5. Don’t get me wrong, I get frustrated by a lot of what I read myself, but I do think they get some things right.

    Something I’ve realized is that I tend to make strong statements, but later, I find that the issue is a little more complicated than my statement or opinion allowed. In sum, there is value in appreciating nuance. So yes, Boundless may be “out of touch,” that does not mean that there is nothing for us, as 20-somethings, to learn from them.

  6. I enjoyed the themes in the movie to and bored my housemate tonight over-analysing each character. I wish it wasn’t quite so graphic but I averted my eyes at a couple of points. It definitely was interesting to show what happens after the “happily ever after” which in itself is useful for women. And it showed what it takes to make a relationship work too.

  7. Thank you, Jacob.

  8. Kudos! I too am a lost depraved fan of SATC and wanted to point out a couple more “righteous” aspects of the show.

    I love that the SATC girls can always laugh at them selves and laugh at what’s horrible, always cracking jokes about the ills that befall them, whether trivial or tragic. Are these laugh lines vulgar, insensitive, irreverent? At times, absofrigginlutely! But life is always going to be kinda unpleasant, and this girl would always rather go through the ups and downs with a smile, or an inappropriate laugh than be solemn, uptight, and miserable.

    Also, no one has mentioned the value of SATC as a conversation starter. So many episodes have been irresistably thought provoking. How many times have my girlfriends and I conversed passionately, sometimes almost to the point of argument, about unhealthy relationships, reproductive decisions, career paths, honesty between friends and lovers, and so on. These times, sometimes lasting hours, of standing on my tiny patio with a cigarette and a bottle of cheap wine talking for hours about the infinity of mercy, are priceless to me. I would not trade the opportunity for such honest and soulful moments for all the sermons and bible studies in the world.

    Finally, and most important–the girls love each other. They have such true friendship, loving each other unconditionally through all the disagreements and poor choices, always, always being there to pick each other uNo one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.p. Isn’t there something in the Bible about that? Oh yeah. 1 John 4. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.Maybe the SATC girls aren’t good little church goers, but what a model of Godlike loving friendship.

  9. Sharon, you said it well.

  10. I watched it for ten minutes one time as an admirable attempt to understand the “other side.” Frankly, I hated it, but I didn’t actually stick around long enough to find out if I had moral objections as well.

    From the ten minutes I watched I will say that the men they portrayed seem more than a little flat — but then so is every woman ever made in a man movie.

    I tell you what. I’ll cede Sex and the City if I can keep my Clint Eastwood and Quentin Tarantino films.

  11. PS: Read the Boundless review. I agree: Astoundingly sanctimonious. Don’t have any other description for it.

  12. sounds like you don’t like christians very much or agree with what is said in the bible. So why pretend to be a christian? since you are so very hip, ‘intelligent’ ’21st century’ as you say. But actually, I know where you are coming from, because I don’t like christians either–‘christians’ like you.

  13. How Christ-like of you elvin. I’m glad to see you sticking to rock-solid Biblical principles.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

